Internet For All Now Act of 2017 was sponsored by the California Emerging Technology Fund (CETF) and its partners to lay a foundation for the future of broadband in California.  CETF provides leadership statewide to close the Digital Divide by accelerating broadband deployment and adoption of broadband for unserved and underserved communities and disadvantaged populations through public policy and community investments.

In October 2017, The Internet For All Now Act (AB 1665) became law, continuing California's role as a national trailblazer for Digital Inclusion.  The Act marks a major accomplishment in aligning the priorities of the California Public Utilities Commission, the California Advanced Services Fund and community-based organizations to bridge the Digital Divide in California.  We applaud Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia for stepping forward to author the bill and principal co-authors: Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Rob Bonta, Brian Dhale, Chris Holden, Kevin McCarty, James Gallagher, Evan Low, Miguel Santiago, Jim Wood and co-authors: Anna Caballero, David Chiu, Susan Eggman, Eloise Gómez Reyes, Mike Gipson, Reginald Jones-Sawyer, Blanca Rubio, Tom Lackey, Devon Mathis, Jose Medina and Senator Tony Mendoza. 

Now, the Internet For All Now requires urgent action to support Assembly Bill 570 (Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry) to secure essential funding for high-speed Internet infrastructure for unserved rural communities and high-need low-income neighborhoods to respond to COVID-19.  AB570 does not use General Fund dollars.  It extends existing collections into the California Advanced Services Fund (CASF) beginning in 2023 and targets investments with key reforms to support distance learning and telehealth.  See who is supporting Assembly Bill 570.